Jack Borwick is the new U16 european champion

A win by 3 Frames to 1 at the final match of the U16 event at the 2023 EBSA European Snooker Championships facing Bulgaria’s Maksim Kostov at St. Paul’s Bay Dolmen Hotel celebrated Scotland’s Jack Borwick as the new european crown in this cathegory this Wednesday night.

The U16 2022 champion, Latvia’s Artemijs Zizins: one of the first to congratulate the new european king

The 16 years old man from Dunfermline succeeds Latvia’s Artemijs Zizins as new U16 European Champion and celebrated in style at Malta’s venue, including Scottish flag and a big smile and hug to the proud mother, Susanne.

Proud mother Susanne with Jack Borwick: a day to remember

Maksim’s father Nick also couldn’t stop supporting his son during the match and in the end, the proud path was also entitled to celebrations: he was the first bulgarian to play a U16 EBSA European Snooker Championships final and had a fantastic journey at Malta’s event.

Maksim Kostov, runner-up, with MBSA President Ivan Brincat and EBSA Chairman Maxime Cassis

The final was refereed by Northern Ireland’s Seamus Gallagher, with Hungary’s Veronika Kovacs as marker, and EBSA General Secretary Simon Smith joined Malta Billiards and Snooker Association President Ivan Brincat and EBSA Chairman Maxime Cassis in the victory ceremony.

Poland’s Michal Szubarczyk, perfermed the best break at the U16 event: 60 points

England’s O’Shay Scott received also wis trophy for the 3rd place at the competition – aside Latvia’s Andrejs Pripjoks – and Poland’s Michal Szubarczyk the trophy for a magnificent 60 points run to top the best breaks list at the U16 event.

EBSA General Secretary Simon Smith with Jack Borwick in an happy night for Scotland’s snooker

In the meantime, the U18 best of 5 frames round-robin matches are over and on the other 15 tables settled at the Dolmen Hotel the also best of 5 Frames knock-out Last 32 round of matches are on the run. The U18 competition will end on Saturday March 11th with ‘quarters’, ‘semis’ and final match to be played best of 7 Frames.

England’s O’shay Scott got the trophy for 3rd place from Maxime Cassis and Ivan Brincat’s hands