European Open reaches Last 16

The inaugural EBSA 2016 European Open reached its later stages this evening, with places for the quarter-finals being decided, before the final stages being played on Friday morning.

Having reduced the number of players down form 71, Shachar Ruberg (Israel), Wayne Brown (England), Brendan O’Donoghue (Ireland) all booked places in the Quarter-finals with comprehensive 4-0 victories.  The match between Darren Morgan (Wales) and Jamie Bodle (England) proved to be the closest fought match, with a number of twists and turns, although it was Morgan who finally clinched the deciding frame to progress into the next round.

Brian Cini (Malta), Craig McGillivray (Scotland) and Alex Taubman (Wales) all came through the round of the Last 16 to book their places in the Quarter-finals.

The Quarter-finals, being played at 10:00 (local time) are heavily dominated with UK and Ireland players, seeking to progress into the Semi-Finals.  The draw for the Quarter-finals sees the two Irish players, O’Donoghue and Goggins facing each other, whilst the other quarter-finals see England’s Wayne Brown meeting Wales, Alex Taubman and fellow Welshman Darren Morgan, meeting the other UK player, Craig McGillivray from Scotland.  The remaining Quarter-final sees the two youngest player’s in this round, battling it out for their place in the Semi-finals, in the match between Malta’s Brian Cini and Israel’s Shachar Ruberg.

As ever, the EBSA website will be providing full coverage and live streaming of the remaining matches, and the Competition will finish on Friday afternoon, with the eventual winner receiving the trophy at the Opening Ceremony of The European Team and European Individual (Masters and Ladies) Championships that commences in the City Hall at 19:00.