Liam Davies U21 European Champion 2024

After the devastation of losing out on a deciding frame in the WPBSA Q Tour Playoff’s just five days ago in a bid for a WST Tour Card, Liam Davies dug in deep and fought his way back to the top and this time as the Welshman sealed the deal with an emotional win here in Sarajevo.

The final wasn’t a classic, but considering what was at stake it was understandable that Liam Davies and Antonio Kowalski felt the pressure at times, but that just added to the drama.

Liam Davies with President of the EBSA Maxime Cassis and Vice President of the EBSA Ricardo Salgado

The final was really nick and tuck with the frames shared in the opening six frames, then for the first time in the Final Liam Davies led in the seventh frame and that was to prove to be a pivotal moment in this encounter. The eighth frame was dominated in the early stages by Antonio Kowalski, but given the chance Davies pounced and some how held it together to secure the win.

Antonio Kowalski receives his Silver Medal

Along with the honour of being the 2024 European U21 Champion Davies also received a titanium cue from a brand new sponsor with the EBSA ‘little monster’.

Davies now follows in the foot steps of Liam Graham, Ben Mertens, Dylan Emery, Aaron Hill, Jackson Page, Simon Lichtenburg, Alexander Ursenbacher, Josh Boileau, Darryl Hill and Oliver Lines who had all won this U21 Championship over the previous 10 years.

Bronze Medal winner Artemijs Zizins