Ross Muir is the new European Champion!

A victory by 5 Frames to 1 facing his fellow countryman Michael Collumb, this Saturday night, at Stp. Paul’s Bay Grand Final of the Men’s competition in the 2023 EBSA European Snooker Championships: Scotland’s Ross Muir is the new European Snooker Champion, succeeding Estonian Andres Petrov as the king of the continent.

All Scotland: Ross won, Michael Collumb was runner-up

The aged 27 competitor from Edimburg will be nominated by EBSA to World Snooker to play on the tour for the nest 2 seasons, like his fellow countryman Liam Graham, winner of the U21 competition also here in Malta, where Scotland claimed victory in 3 out of 4 competitions, adding Jack Borwick’s win at the U16 cathegory.

Michael Collumb receives the silver medal from EBSA Chairman Maxime Cassis

In the ‘All Scotland’ Grand Final, his opponent, Michael Collumb, aged 34, from Motherwell, had to be pleased with the runner-up condition in a final clash in which Muir entered strong (2-0) and kept a 2 Frames lead at halftime (3-1). Muir had to win 10 matches in seven days to regain the chance of coming back to the tour and he is the 4th competitor from Scotland to become European Snooker Champion, after Graham Horne (1996), Scott Donaldson (2012) and Chris Totten (2017).

MBSA President Ivan Brincat and EBSA Chairman Maxime Cassis with the Grand Final referee, Belgium Bart Tournel, and the marker, Malta’s Joe Debono

Ukraine’s Iulian Boiko had the best break and get his award from a superb 139, while Ireland’s Ross Bulman and the 1997 and 2013 European Snooker Champion, Finland’s Robin Hull, received also the bronze medal at this 2023 competition in Malta.

Edimburgh’s Ross Muir and the cup: a 5-1 win did not left doubts to nobody facing Motherwell’s fellow countryman Michael Collumb

The audience at Delos Room of the Dolmen Hotel, the venue of the competition since March 6th, gave a warm tribute to both the Scottish aces.

Ivan Brincat, MBSA President, and Maxime Cassis, EBSA Chairman, presented the trophies to Scotland’s aces