Allen to take on Borg for top spot

Allen to take on Borg for top spot

Gareth Allen won his 5th match in Group M and will now face off with Matla’s Alex Borg tomorrow morning for the No.1 spot in the group. The Welsh player defeated Lituania’s Simonas Dragunas 4-0 with a top break of 71 in the third frame while Bernard Bernhardsson and Jaroslaw Kowalski will also go head to head to sort out 3rd position in the group. 

In Group B David Lilley also notched up his 5th of the tournament beating M Relich 4-2 while also in this group Bratislav Krastev’s 4-1 over Davor Bobek now leaves four players on two wins each which should make for an interesting finish to the group. 

Other results in the Men’s section saw wins for Duncan Bezzina and also Daniel Kandi, although Daniel lost a 3-0 lead with Siarhei Melnichowak coming back to 3-3 before Daniel took the last frame to get over the finish line.

Masters Section

There were two games in Group H this afternoon with wins for both Richard Kornburger and Costas Konnaris. Kornburger had to survive a comeback by Daniel Poly from 2-0 down to eventually win 3-2 to finish the group in 3rd spot while Costas topped the group ahead of Mark Tuite thanks to a 3-0 win over Marcin Kolibski which included breaks of 51 and 50 in the second frame.

In other matches our only lady competitor in the Masters Section Malgorzata Sikorska had a comfortable 3-0 win over Darius Bublys to qualify in fourth position in Group B and we also saw wins elsewhere for Pal Vantara and France’s Bernard Ballestra.

Ladies Section

In the Ladies section Manon Melief recorded a 3-1 win over Valarie Savonet of France and now is on three wins with Valerie on one win with two matches left to play.

Unfortunately this Ladies match was the only one finished at the time of posting but we will update this page with the results once they resume after the final session.


Robin Hull  v D Jones
P Pereira v D Eriksen
D Bezzina 4-1 P Maslowski
D Lilley 4-2 M Relich
B Krastev 4-1 D Bobek
D Kandi 4-3 S Melnichonak
G Allen 4-0 Simonas Dragunas


L Lassaut  v W Nowicka
M Eelief 3-1 V Savonet
E Pawinska v Y Shut


R Jewtuch 1-3 B Ballestra
D Poly 2-3 R Kornberger
M Sivasubramiam 3-2 J Schneidwindt
M Sikorska 3-0 D Bublys
P Vantara 3-0 L Aldonis
Costas Konnaris 3-0 M Kolibski